Awards and Honors

Sixteen IIN-affiliated faculty members on 2020 Highly Cited Researchers list

By Mark Heiden

November 18, 2020

Sixteen researchers affiliated with the International Institute for Nanotechnology have been named to the annual Highly Cited Researchers™ 2020 list from Clarivate, representing interdisciplinary excellence in chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering, materials science, and other fields.

This highly anticipated annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant influence in their chosen field or fields through the publication of multiple highly cited papers during the last decade. Their names are drawn from the publications that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in the Web of Science™ citation index.

The methodology that determines the “who’s who” of influential researchers draws on the data and analysis performed by bibliometric experts and data scientists at the Institute for Scientific Information™ at Clarivate. It also uses the tallies to identify the countries and research institutions where these elite researchers are based.

The IIN-affiliated researchers on the list are:

Navdeep S. Chandel
Vinayak P. Dravid
Omar K. Farha
Mark C. Hersam
Jiaxing Huang
Yonggang Huang
Joseph T. Hupp
Mercouri Kanatzidis
Tobin J. Marks
Chad A. Mirkin
John A. Rogers
George C. Schatz
Randall Q. Snurr
Fraser Stoddart
Michael R. Wasielewski
Chris Wolverton

Mirkin, Schatz, and Stoddart are among the 66 Citation Laureates™ recognized by Clarivate, through citation analysis, as ‘of Nobel class’ and potential Nobel Prize recipients.

The full 2020 Highly Cited Researchers list and executive summary can be found online here.