Awards and Honors

IIN researchers elected to AIMBE College of Fellows

By Alex Gerage

March 31, 2020

Jewett, Gianneschi

IIN Associate Director Nathan Gianneschi and steering committee member Mike Jewett have been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering’s College of Fellows, recognizing “distinguished and continuing achievements in medical and biological engineering.”

Jewett, Walter P. Murphy Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, is an expert on cell-free synthetic biology, protein synthesis, therapeutics, glycosylation, and engineered ribosomes. He is developing cell-free biology as an enabling technology for biomanufacturing lifesaving therapeutics, sustainable chemicals, and novel materials, both quickly and on-demand.

Gianneschi, the Jacob and Rosalind Cohn Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and professor of materials science and engineering and biomedical engineering at the McCormick School of Engineering, studies how nanomaterials interact with cells, tissues, and biomolecules, with an interest in synthetic materials programmed with biopolymers as delivery systems. His research group also develops responsive materials and “smart” nanoparticles as well as new techniques for the discovery of functional nanomaterials and bionanomaterials through library screening methodologies.

Read more at the McCormick School of Engineering.